I am ... not good at updating this in a timely fashion. I think it's because I still haven't decided if it's some sort of dumb diary or something meant for friends and family to keep up with, or what. So I'm just going to keep on writing, and avoid TMI stuff. Who needs to know that, anyway, right? And I sure as hell won't want to read about it in a year or two, when I've got hair again and can plan fun stuff any time I want.
Yeah, I snuck that in about the hair. My hair has never really been that much of a thing for me, but I've been awfully hesitant to think about it being gone. But over the weekend, I started to really shed in earnest, ew, and it was just time.
I had RSVPd to an anniversary party for one of my bosses and his wife, so Jeff and I went to that Sunday - ohmyGod how awesome that cake tasted - and then we went to Walmart to get some groceries and a shaver.
I was prepared to buy the absolute cheapest thing they had, despite my hometown's (and my family's) allegiance to Wahl Clippers. I was lucky - they had a super-cheap Wahl model, so I was able to support my hometown business. (Yeah, this is from the girl who still prefers Rubbermaid stuff to Sterilite, YEARS after being let go from Newell Rubbermaid's corporate communications department.)
So, we got the clipper and went home. Jeff pulled up a dining room chair and we draped it with sheets, and he got to work cutting off my hair. We started with the teeny little scissors I've used to cut my bangs when they get too long and I'm too lazy to go to a salon. It felt weird.
I had been worried that Vinnie wouldn't recognize me. He's kind of a jerk to boys and men, and I was afraid that, without my hair, I'd look like just some shiftless teenage guy to be barked at. While he chopped away at my hair, Jeff joked that it was probably best for Vinnie to see what was happening.
I was a little bit teary, and Jeff did such a good job. He has really been so strong for me, and I don't think I can adequately say how much he means to me. When I feel graceless (which is a lot of the time), I think of his grace, pulling us both through this.
So anyway, now I'm bald-ish. I'm getting used to it - it's nicer than shedding, frankly. No photos, at least for now. I have been out in public, though not intentionally: We drove through Wendy's for a cheesey baked potato (oh, yum) and supper, and I had to go to the restroom. (There's your TMI.) I had a soft purple hat on, so I ran in, ran into the bathroom, and ran back out. Nobody pointed or screamed, but I'm not sure there was anyone other than employees there, anyway.
Today, I should be back at work, but I'm still feeling crappy and woke up with a sore throat and a slight fever. (The threshold for having to go to the hospital is 100.8; I'm at 100.0.) So I'm sitting in our front porch with the windows open, smelling the lilacs and enjoying the day. I've sent photos of birds at the new bird feeder to Jeff and found a project for us for our patio, and hey, I'm up to date!
No comments:
Post a Comment